Back once again (with the ill behaviour)

Hello everyone,

Apologies for the lack of updates recently. Things have been a bit mad for the last couple of months, with an intensive English summer program, an MA assignment due and a trip back to the UK, where I actually still am, but finally have a bit of time to write. I’m back to Korea next week though, and looking forward to picking up the blogging and tweeting once more. This post is a bit of a preview of what’s coming up for me this semester.

Actually, that bit is in part a lie, as I thought I’d share what’s been keeping me busy first. This is my latest research project for my MA, which started out as a bit of a p*sstake as sociolinguistics wasn’t really interesting me, and ended up becoming a fascinating inquest into gendered speech and narrative. The paper is a bit disappointing, as I tried to cram way too much in, but if you’re interested in that kind of stuff it might be worth a read, and if you’re not, it will certainly serve as a sleeping aid 🙂

Gender, identity and narrative in oral tellings of Red Riding Hood by native speaking English teachers in South Korea – Alexander Grevett – Public

The other thing that’s been keeping me busy is the university’s Summer Intensive Program, and the 5 week pronunciation course that I taught. This was one of the more interesting teaching experiences I’ve had, and deserves a full write up I think – one that I will try to do over the next couple of weeks.

I also owe a debt of gratitude to Mike Griffin (@michaelegriffin), firstly for mentioning me in his post for iTDi (not totally sure this blog is deserving of international recognition, but I’ll take it), but also for hooking us up with a slot at the KOTESOL International Conference where we’ll be presenting about #KELTChat. Thanks Mike! I’m really looking forward to both the presentation and just getting back into a growing community – we’ve been on the backburner a bit over the summer, but I have great expectations for the new semester. With my MA, I feel like I’ve been doing too much professional development to do any professional development.

Finally, I’m just looking forward to getting back into a routine of teaching, and having the time to work on other things again. I’ve managed to convince my department that we should focus more on speaking and have a higher participation grade. This is great, except now I have to write a rubric for class participation. Expect a whingeing, cry for help style post early next week.

Think that’s about it. I’m off to wade through about 200 unread posts on Google Reader. Before I go, huge congratulations to Alex Walsh (@AlexSWalsh) whose Alien Teachers blog won British Council Blog of the Month! An incredibly deserving winner, and a must read if you haven’t already.

Alright, cheers and that. Will post again soon. For real.

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

